Socialize With Us

Two NCG Staff Join the Forum Board of Directors

Friday, August 5, 2016

During the Forum of Regional Association of Grantmakers 2016 Annual Conference, its membership elected two of NCG's own to join its Board of Directors. Our CEO Ellen LaPointe joins for her first, three-year term and Karen Freeman will hit the numbers as the Forum's new Board Treasurer. Read the Forum's announcement below. 

Five philanthropy leaders from across the country have joined the Board of Directors of the Forum of Regional Associations of Grantmakers, the largest network serving philanthropy in America.  The new Directors were elected by the Forum’s membership at its 2016 Annual Meeting on July 19, 2016, in Indianapolis.

Elected to the Forum Board for a first three-year term are Susan Taylor Batten, President and CEO of ABFE; Paul Daugherty, President and CEO of Philanthropy West Virginia; Nick Deychakiwsky, Program Officer at the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation; Ellen LaPointe, President and CEO of Northern California Grantmakers; and Daranee Petsod, President of Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees (GCIR).

“We’re pleased to welcome these five impressive leaders in philanthropy to the Forum’s Board of Directors,” said David Biemesderfer, the Forum’s President and CEO.  “They bring a wide range of experience and expertise in the philanthropic sector, including deep knowledge and connections of regional philanthropy, the national philanthropic infrastructure, and critical leadership issues for funders today.”

Also at the Annual Meeting, the Forum’s membership elected two Directors to a second three-year term on the Board: Jeff Poulos, Executive Director of Associated Grant Makers; and Miriam Shark, former Director, Philanthropy for The Annie E. Casey Foundation.

Continuing to serve on the Board are Ronna Brown, President, Philanthropy New York; Karen Freeman, Vice President, Operations and Government Relations, Southern California Grantmakers; Claudia Herrold, Senior Vice President, Communications & Public Policy, Philanthropy Ohio; Joanne Kelley, Executive Director, Colorado Association of Funders; Janine Lee, President and CEO, Southeastern Council of Foundations; David Lindberg, Chief Financial Officer, Council of Michigan Foundations; and Marissa Manlove, President and CEO, Indiana Philanthropy Alliance.

In addition, the Forum’s Board of Directors has elected Board Officers for 2016-2017: Chair: Marissa Manlove, Indiana Philanthropy Alliance; Vice Chair: Jeff Poulos, Associated Grant Makers; Secretary: Janine Lee, Southeastern Council of Foundations; Treasurer: Karen Freeman, Southern California Grantmakers; and President: David Biemesderfer, Forum of Regional Associations of Grantmakers.

The Forum of Regional Associations of Grantmakers is the largest network serving philanthropy in America, currently consisting of 33 regional philanthropy associations with more than 5,500 participating organizations.  With deep regional roots and a broad nationwide reach, the Forum Network fills an important role in the philanthropic sector by improving the effectiveness of foundations and expanding their capacity to advance the common good.  Current supporters of the Forum include its 33 members, The Annie E. Casey Foundation, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, the Ford Foundation and the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation.  For more information, visit

Find More By

News type